Jon Rahm steps in to defend Hideki Matsuyama from rules official at 2022 BMW Championship

Jon Rahm cruised through the opening stages of the BMW Championship, shooting a 73 during Thursday's first round before starting Friday

starting Friday's second round with bogeys on two of his first seven holes.

But that didn't stop the world number five from taking action when a PGA Tour rules official appeared ready to penalize Hideki Matsuyama

after the 2021 Masters champion took a practice swing from the rough next to the bunker on No. 7, only to see the ball and then back into the bunker .

Matsuyama's swing was nowhere near the ball and he immediately looked at his caddy in horror as he realized he had fallen into the sand.

Since the ball rested in an awkward spot just outside the bunker, the Japanese would have to swing while standing inside the bunker to have a chance of getting the ball close to the flag.

A rules official came over and asked if the ball had moved because of Matsuyama's swing, and Rahm stepped in to insist that it hadn't.